2013 NAHL Robertson Cup Logo

NAHL Robertson Cup Championship Format Released

The NAHL has released the playoff and Robertson Cup National Championship format. Once again the Robertson Cup Championship will be held at the Dr. Pepper Arena in Frisco, TX. The dates for the tournament are May 10-13. The Dr Pepper Arena is home to the defending Robertson Cup Champion Texas Tornado and corporate home and practice facility of the Dallas Starsof the NHL.  The arena seats 5,000 and underwent extensive renovations prior to the 2009/10 season. “The Dallas Stars are pleased and proud to once again be the host facility for the Robertson Cup Championship,” said Ed Reusch of the Dallas Stars and Vice President of Dr Pepper Arena. “We have a great working relationship with the North American Hockey League and we look forward to helping them produce a first class event We feel the Dr Pepper Arena is an ideal venue for these young men to compete for a national championship and a place the visiting fans will enjoy as well.”

The playoffs will begin with the North Division Play-in series to be held April 4-8. The Play-in Series will consist of two best-of-three series pitting the third seeded team against the sixth seed team and the fourth seed team against the fifth seed team. The winners of the Play-in Series will advance to the Division Semifinals against the first and second seed teams who receive first round byes. The division’s first seed team will play the lowest seeded team to advance from the Play-in Series.

The Division Semifinals for each division will be best-of-five series with the number one seed facing the number four seed and the second seed facing the number three seed. Semifinal Series will be held from April 11-21. The highest seeded team in each series will have the right to host up to three games and the lower seeded team must be able to host at least two games.

The two teams from each division advancing from the Division Semifinals will compete in the Division Finals.  Each Division Finals Series will be a best-of-five format with the higher seeded team having the right to host up to three games while the lower seed must be able to host a minimum of two games. Division Finals can not start before April 25 and must be concluded by May 5.

The four teams to be crowned as Division Champions following the Division Finals will advance to the Robertson Cup National Championship in Frisco where the will compete in front of over 200 NCAA and professional scouts.

Next Stars Game Full schedule »
Friday, Oct 3131 Oct7:30Anaheim DucksBuy Tickets

Tags: NAHL Robertson Cup

comments powered by Disqus